1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Brand new owner, need advice!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by RainbowBrite, Apr 4, 2011.

1. RainbowBrite

RainbowBrite New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Well hello everyone, this is my first time really posting to a forum, so let's see how this goes.

I just bought a used 2008 Prius Touring package #6 from Carmax. I have a 30 day warranty to fix anything on it. I already had to take it in once because the brake rotors were warped, and some other small things here and there. I am completely new to the Hybrid system, and don't know what is normal for the Prius and what isn't. After reading on this site, and several others, I don't think I am alone with certain issues, but also don't know what to tell Carmax is really "wrong" with it.

They leveled out my brake rotors, but I've noticed that the brakes still studder when stopping, sort of like if you think of a straight light, then a break in it, similar to a dash in morse code, another dash, and then a straight line again. That's the best I can describe it in text. This I've read complaints on, but what is it that causes it?

Also, when stopped at a light, and running off the electric motor, then going, and it switching to the gasoline engine, is it normal to feel a jolt when it kicks in and you start driving again? Is this jolt even the result of what I just described?

Anyway I can't think of anything else at the moment, I only have 30 days to get anything fixed like I said before....so anything would really help, I'm clueless...

2. firepa63

firepa63 Former Prius Owner

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    It's strange that the brake rotors needed work since the brakes wear very little on a Prius. Most of the braking is done by regenation. The friction brakes don't come in to play until about 7 mph under normal braking situations.