1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

BT Tech spoiler

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by Bob Allen, Oct 28, 2005.

1. Bob Allen

Bob Allen Captainbaba

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I noticed the BT Tech spoiler ad on the side bar of this page. I checked out the photo and have a few observations that are more like questions.

I'm a flight instructor, and somewhat versed in aerodynamics. The blurb that shows up in the ad mentions the lift effect which is created by air moving faster (and thus at lower pressure) over the top of the car than the air moving under the car. That's true, and probably would have a negative effect on the handling of the Prius at highway speeds. The BT spoiler looks like it would disrupt only the flow aft of the car, not the airflow moving over the top, which would be unimpeded by the BT spoiler. What would happen, then, is that the BT spoiler would create a lot of drag by introducing turbulence where you least want it, at the airflow's exit point.