1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Buying a Prius Gen II looking for tips!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Pundotnelson, May 15, 2015.

1. Pundotnelson

Pundotnelson New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hey guys, I'm looking into buying a prius gen II 2006 from a private party and I was reading this forum.

I already have the car picked out and its got about 230k miles and had the battery replaced in 2011.

What should I look out for when i test drive it? I'm new to hybrid car systems so when I look under the hood what should I look for? What problems can I expect at that high mileage?

I heard many prius cars make it over 300k! I hope this one gets there for me.

Best,
    Nelson

2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    230k is a lot of miles, you sure you don't want to find one that's little less used?

You have to find out what kind of battery was used in 2011. If it's a brand new Toyota battery, then it may be ok. If it's a refurbished battery, then you should probably not consider this one as your first Prius.

3. Kevin06prius

Kevin06prius Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Also. I'm not sure what they are asking but I thi it should be well under 3k. When I bought mine I had 2 to chose from at the dealer. 1 was a 2004 with 194k miles on a lower trim for $3k. The other one which I bought was a 2006 with 140k miles was fully loaded with Navi and leather. I paid $5400 plus dealer fee= $5900 plus tax out the door. I now have 163k miles with no problems or work done.

4. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    those are some amazing used prices.

5. exstudent

exstudent Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    If you rely on paying someone for maintenance/repairs, this is a horrible idea, next to buying a salvage.