1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Buying used and does this car match our needs

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by chapel, Sep 14, 2009.

1. chapel

chapel New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I've been asked this question and I don't have an answer.
    my concern is getting them repaired off the grid at independents.
    a hybrid would make a lot of sense for my wife who only drives 5-10 miles a day in the city and needs a 4 door for our baby. but I don't buy new (depreciation is a bad investment...) but the technology of a hybrid scares me
    We're looking at W20 models and not the W10 models

While we'd like a W30 model, it's out of our price range (I don't want to spend much more than $10k)

I'm an engineer and I've worked on my own cars for years, but they're just "regular cars"
    I currently have an Audi S6 that I do most of my own work on. I've done motor swaps in cars... I'm sort of the car guru to people who know me, but hybrids are black magic in my book.

I tend to avoid cars with automatic transmissions (because I don't know how to rebuild them). I tend to avoid cars with tons of electronics (because I hate troubleshooting them)
    These cars are both... but at the same time, I don't plan on modifying it for 600hp or anything. It's going to be my wife's daily driver.

So, I guess I should start by explaining why we want one for her and her driving patterns.
    First, we're in New England, so it snows and it's cold. How are they in cold start and icy conditions?
    Second, she tends to drive mostly in the city and mostly short distances. One of our concerns was that because of her short driving that engine wouldn't properly recharge the battery.

Right now she had a Saab 9-5 Wagon that meets our needs for space and comfort, but it gets abysmal mileage and it's getting old.

2. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member