1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Bypassing all seat sensors/switches

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by northwichita, Mar 30, 2008.

1. northwichita

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I own an 04 prius with 108 k, no warranty. I plan on using it as a postal vehicle on a rural route. I need to deliver out of the right side window, and with that in mind, found a bench seat from a mini pickup that bolts up with minor mods. My quick solution to dealing with the switch/sensors in the seats is to simply rewire at the connections, at least that's my plan. I would configure it so both seats are always occupied. (Simply removing the passenger seat has turned on the air bag light, and I won't use the car without airbags). I have limited electrical experience, thought of simply voltage testing the wires of an occupied seat,and then rewiring to simulate.

Has this been posted? I also have the seat airbag wiring to deal with. For me, the added control from driving from the middle of a bench seat (for my job) offsets the loss of the seat airbags. I plan on using a rear seat buckles for the front seat. Yes, no children will be in the car.

2. seasalsa

seasalsa Active Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Try a search on this site, there have been several recent posts on this subject from other letter carriers/paper delivery owners complete with pictures of conversions.

3. edthefox5

edthefox5 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two