1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

CALI NEW CAT

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Chris figgo, Jan 26, 2021.

1. Chris figgo

Chris figgo New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I need some advice about my situation. On like Christmas Eve someone stole my CAT in the middle of the night and I need to know what to do now. I am a broke college student so I cant get a new part from the dealer (the price in cali is INSANE), and I technically have until next year until I need to renew smog. Would it be worth it to just by a universal CAT and fix it on there (any advice from someone who tried this before would be appreciated), or should I just try to sell/scrap the car (whichever is more profitable lol). As far as the car itself goes, its literally PERFECT, it has like 180k miles and is a top tier model 2006 Prius and I replaced the main battery like a year ago and still have like 2-3 years on the warranty. Any advice is appreciated!

2. PriusCamper

PriusCamper Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Wow, what a lousy Xmas for you!

A cheap aftermarket cat won't ship to California, nor will you be able to find a shop to do it for you. But If you have a friend out of state to ship it to and then you install it yourself or have a friend to do it... That will at least get you back on the road until your next smog inspection and then you'll have to fork over the big bucks, or find a Prius owner outside the state to sell you their OEM cat and they can use an aftermarket one.

Kaptainkid1 likes this.
  3. qmanqman

qmanqman Active Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    One
    get an aftermarket one on there however you need to
    . you can price them on rockauto.com

4. edthefox5

edthefox5 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    The one I got off amazon $125 has been on the car for about 3 months now runs great.