Can I install the official Prius Nav system after the fact?

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by JesseB, Mar 30, 2016.

  1. JesseB

    JesseB New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    3
    1
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hello,
    I recently purchased a 2016 Prius II. I am interested in having the factory Nav system. I didn't opt to get the Prius III, which includes Nav, because it was a bit out my price range (and i didn't need the leather seats, etc that came with the Prius III).

    My question is: Is there an after-market way to buy/install the navigation system that is standard with the Prius III? It seems that the hardware is the same between the Prius II and the III, so I would think it would be just a software installation. Does Toyota sell it anywhere, and could I Just install it via USB?

    thanks!
     
    aurelio likes this.
  2. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    83,693
    36,618
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome! no. but you would be better served to save up some money for a replacement h/u with a decent nav and other features. the prius nag is dog poop. all the best.(y)
     
    Jim in NC likes this.
  3. JesseB

    JesseB New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    3
    1
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hi Bisco!

    Thanks for your Reply.

    I have a garmin nav, which is suitable... i kind of like hte convenience of just staring at the the display, though. but if it the standard toyota nav is garbage, then thats good to know!

    What is a h/u? I'm new here and its my first rodeo. does it means heads up?
     
  4. JesseB

    JesseB New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    3
    1
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Could I get some more info (ie a website) on a good replacement h/u?
     
  5. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    83,693
    36,618
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    head unit. search around in gen 4 forums. it's still too new, but i think there are a couple stereo threads.
     
  6. Coast Cruiser

    Coast Cruiser Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    2,267
    2,550
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Coast Highway
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    bisco, can you expand on your "dog poop" comment? My Nav seems to work pretty good. Just type in the address, and away you go. That nice female voice directs me. ;)

    And Jesse, were you looking at the regular Three model, or the Three Touring? My regular Three does not have leather (SofTex) seats. (But is has Nav and a spare tire.)
     
  7. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    83,693
    36,618
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    hopefully, they are improved. my gen II and III are much worse than a cheap garmin. sometimes i'll type in an address, and it won't take the city, or the state! the voice commands don't give you enough warning of upcoming turns. i was in nyc last week, and you really need help to know which lane you should be in for an exit. everyones going 55 in a 30 mph zone, you barely have time to think, and need more audible directions.
    the upgrades are expensive, and even when new, there are a lot of streets missing.
    don't get me wrong, it's not horrible, just using hyperbole, but if i didn't have it, i would get a head unit with a good rep for nav, phone, bluetooth, sound of course, apps and etc.
     
  8. Coast Cruiser

    Coast Cruiser Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    2,267
    2,550
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Coast Highway
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Ok, thanks. I'm still very new with it. She seems to give a 1 mile, 1/2 mile, and 1/4 mile heads up to make a turn. But the voice commands may require repeating... She cant seem to hear me very well. It seems to work best when there are preset destinations typed in.

    I gotta go back and study that complicated user manual again.
     
    bisco likes this.
  9. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    83,693
    36,618
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    the 700 page one?:p
     
  10. Coast Cruiser

    Coast Cruiser Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    2,267
    2,550
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Coast Highway
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Nah, the manual for the Nav is only about 200 pages. Come to think of it, I don't think I even read it yet! :LOL:
     
    glennonrp and bisco like this.
  11. 'LectroFuel

    'LectroFuel Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    879
    668
    0
    Location:
    San Juan Capistrano, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Use your phone! I like Google Maps, but Waze is pretty good, too. The Prius navigation is good, but better traffic info is on your phone. The Prius nav doesn't use up your data plan. If you decide to use your phone, I suggest buying a phone clip stand on Amazon.

    I don't now, but to me, installing the nav with the bigger screen seems impossible (or very expensive).
     
  12. 155

    155 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    54
    25
    0
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    The factory nav is awful. It's 2D and slow. Buy something better!
     
  13. Kenny94945

    Kenny94945 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    499
    230
    0
    Location:
    Sausalito
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Four
    I believe the OEM head unit if $5000 from Toyota parts.

    You mention the price increase without to with NAV was out of your budget when you purchased.

    Best, buy a Garmin or use a Smart Phone application for navigation.
    (or a co-driver with a paper map...haha)

    Option, there may be other head units, like Panasonic or Kenwood, that will fit the dash.
    Yet I don't think you will be able to tie in with the steering wheel buttons, microphones etc.
    This could get expensive if you can not do electrical yourself.
    In this case we will look for another co-members insights.
     
Loading...