1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Can the NIMH battery sit unused for 16 months and still be usable?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by eatdrumss, Dec 13, 2009.

1. eatdrumss

eatdrumss Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    2007 wrecked 7-08: still not on the road: is the NIMH Battery Going to be ruined?

2007 prius salvage from wreck in july 2008 in mississippi.
    selling for $4500
    15,000 miles
    will not start...a belt drive spins , sounds like rattling, then stops
    is this NIMH HV battery pack going to be shot after a year plus of non use?

should i buy this car?

i have video of the rattle if you want to see it here
    [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MAad-9jZ2-k"]YouTube - Why won't my prius start? engine rattle[/ame]

2. odysseus

odysseus Junior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm no expert, but I've read that leaving a Prius sit for more than two weeks can kill the battery.

3. Doc Willie

Doc Willie Shuttlecraft Commander

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Two weeks of sitting (with SKS on) will drain the 12 volt battery, not the high voltage traction battery. A jump start will get you going again, although the life of the 12 V battery will be shortened a bit.

do not know how long the HV battery will last if sitting.

4. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    When Prius is in storage, the traction battery is supposed to be recharged by making the car READY for 30 minutes every two months. So the battery may well be dead after 16 months but you can buy a salvage battery fairly cheaply - $400 or so plus shipping.

5. David Beale

David Beale Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius