1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Can we do a software update after EGR cleaning job with TechStream

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by htcmember, Jul 12, 2022.

Tags:
  1. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    8,745
    1,522
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I don't know did it work I'm not understanding what's messing up here If you have a two-day license I guess you should be able to access the necessary files from TIS to upgrade everything in your car needs upgrading as far as computers and software goes I would think I've never had a TIS account or bought one so I don't know
     
    htcmember likes this.
  2. rjparker

    rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    7,861
    4,642
    7
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Be careful. If not done correctly you may brick the ecu.

    Never have done this myself but the help file suggests:

    Calibration Update Check
    Press the ECU Reprogramming button on the System Select display.

    The Calibration Update Check screen displays whether or not there is a Calibration ID and update for vehicles with ECU's designed for Reprogramming. If there is an update, a link to TIS is displayed. TIS can be displayed by clicking the link.

    And on step 4 of the next page

    To perform reprogramming, click
    the link to start TIS. When the target Calibration File on the TIS site is clicked, the file will be downloaded and the Calibration Update Wizard will start.

    See attached
     

    Attached Files:

    #42 rjparker, Jun 11, 2024
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2024
    htcmember likes this.
  3. htcmember

    htcmember Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2022
    51
    17
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    thank @rjparker for your inputs and the pdf manual on it.

    I will try again tomorrow and will call techstream support if any missing step here from my steps.

    Good night,
    Riley


     
  4. htcmember

    htcmember Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2022
    51
    17
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    upload_2024-6-11_18-59-49.png upload_2024-6-11_18-59-23.png upload_2024-6-11_18-59-6.png upload_2024-6-11_18-58-49.png upload_2024-6-11_18-58-19.png hi @rjparker et all,

    I've tried to contact Techstream Technical Support this morning and here are some updates:

    1. They asked me to use GTS+ (Global Techstream Plus) instead of Techstream ver.18.000.008 that I've installed on my laptop

    2. It will connect directly to Techstream server/intranet for license verificaiton (that I've bought $70 on it under Professional Diagnostics account)

    3. Account name/shop name will be your name and email that you've registered with https://techinfo.toyota.com/ and User level should be "Public User" when we're using the subscription account

    4. I now can connect to the car using GTS+ software that we will be requested to download and install into PC/laptop via this link: javascript:t3linkSoftware('/tis/download/scantool/GTS/AgentLite_AfterMarket.exe') or we can query from: https://techinfo.toyota.com/t3Portal (see my screenshots on it too)

    HERE IS ANOTHER ISSUE that stop me to flash the ECU (I've tried to report it via Techstream web-base platform [using F12 function from the keyboard to call the report feature]):
    - I can connect to my ct200 and run the health check

    - then click on "YES" on update tab from GTS+ > healthcheck to run TSB document - L-SB-0061-12 Rev2: '11-'16 CT 200h: MIL "ON" DTC P2111 and P0A0F After Cold Soak

    upload_2024-6-11_18-51-11.png

    upload_2024-6-11_18-42-38.png

    - inside L-SB-0061-12 Rev2, I can see the new Calibration ID (37601400) too with a hyperlink as below snapshot to click and load the file
    upload_2024-6-11_18-45-8.png
    but IT ALWAYS LEAD ME TOO BELOW ERROR, so that I can not open the new Cal ID to upgrade/flash my ECO accordingly :(
    Very annoyed and hope that someone can help on it before my license expires
    upload_2024-6-11_19-11-22.png

    It supposes to open GTS or GTS+ as below snapshot so that we can flash it:

    upload_2024-6-11_19-13-48.png


    Btw, i've tried to download all below documents, just in case you guys need any of that, I will share it here too, at least my subscription will be worth to help someone in need :D

    upload_2024-6-11_18-58-19.png
    upload_2024-6-11_18-58-49.png
    upload_2024-6-11_18-59-6.png

    upload_2024-6-11_18-59-23.png

    upload_2024-6-11_18-59-49.png
     

    Attached Files:

    #44 htcmember, Jun 11, 2024
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2024
  5. rjparker

    rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    7,861
    4,642
    7
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    I think you are breaking new ground using the Techstream replacement software from Toyota. It seems to be just a few months ago Toyota announced the upcoming changeover to GTS+ Global Techstream Plus.

    You should call Toyota support again.
     
    htcmember likes this.
  6. htcmember

    htcmember Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2022
    51
    17
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Yes, they says they recommend shops/dealers using the new GTS+ and sadly says that they did not support on flashing/upgrading steps anymore. They told me that they got some case that customer got error/brick/malfunction with the ECU so no more support on it, only support for technical issue related to the software, cables... :(

    That's why I've tried to post here if any pals out there can help :D

    Thanks,
    Riley

     
  7. rjparker

    rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    7,861
    4,642
    7
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Are you saying Toyota is not supporting ecu flashing for anyone using Techstream but the GTS+ software should work?
     
  8. htcmember

    htcmember Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2022
    51
    17
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I mean, they do not support on flashing procedure or how-tos on it anymore, include GTS+, they will only support with software issue or subscription account matter.

     
  9. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    23,620
    15,312
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    What we know for sure is that the TSB that was issued saying "if you have rough running in these circumstances, install this revised EGR valve" also says "and install this newer firmware revision too".

    So it's clear Toyota thinks both things are worth doing if you have rough running in those circumstances, but that could be because the revised valve and revised firmware "need" each other, or just because Toyota expects both revisions to have some benefit to rough running in those circumstances.

    One reason I tend to think it's the latter is that there's a different TSB too, seeking to address a different rough-running complaint in different circumstances, and that one said "use this revised intake manifold", and also said to install the (same) newer firmware version, too.

    If you followed that TSB, you'd have the new manifold, old valve, and new firmware. If you followed the other TSB, you'd have the old manifold, new valve, and new firmware. If you happened to have had both complaints and followed both TSBs, you'd have the new manifold and the new valve and the new firmware.

    And neither the manifold nor the valve identifies itself to the ECM as being the old or the new kind (the manifold has no electrical connections to the ECM, and the connections on the valve are only ECM outputs controlling the valve, no communication back). So the firmware doesn't know whether it's dealing with a new or old manifold or a new or old valve, and has to be able to work ok with either.

    I actually asked Toyota to flash that firmware version for me on its own (because I was guessing it might include other improvements too, like a water pump control change that there's a European TSB about; I have no idea whether my guess was true). The only different behavior I've noticed with the revised firmware is the engine's initial idle RPM is a little higher when it's cold, and then drops to the usual idle speed once the coolant hits 30℃. Kind of like the "fast idle cam" old automatic chokes used to have. Which is a reasonable thing to do if you've got some roughness on cold startup, 'cause it'll probably be less rough at a little higher RPM, and for all I know there might not be any other magic in the firmware update besides that.
     
    htcmember likes this.
  10. rjparker

    rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    7,861
    4,642
    7
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    I meant did Toyota tell you Techstream no longer works for flashing ecus?
     
  11. htcmember

    htcmember Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2022
    51
    17
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    they did not say so, but they only mentioned that we should use GTS+ instead and they don't want to answer my queries on Techstream ver.18 and routed me to GTS+ installation and asked me report any issue via F12 if it' happened
     
  12. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    23,620
    15,312
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I'm guessing they don't want to help anybody using Techstream for anything now that they have GTS+ and it's presumably more resistant to bootlegging.
     
    Brian1954 likes this.
  13. Danno5060

    Danno5060 Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2023
    188
    77
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Are you still sure that it's not worth the $250 to let Toyota do your ECU update?