1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Canadian Prius c fuel economy thread

Discussion in 'Prius c Fuel Economy' started by wongnog, Apr 9, 2012.

1. wongnog

wongnog Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Technology
    Hello fellow canucks! I'd like to start a fuel economy thread for my fellow Canadian Prius c owners. In particular, I'd like to see if others are getting the posted 3.5 L/100 km city and 3.7 L/100 km combined ratings, and how they compare to the US ratings.

I've only owned my car 5 days now, but I went on a road trip this long weekend and surprisingly my fuel gauge started blinking after only 600km on the odometer. I ended up filling up 33.821 L at 608 km, or 5.56 L/100 km. This works out to only 42.3 mpg.

This is my first time driving a hybrid car, so I'm trying to get used to all the EV, ECO, and POWER indicators. Let's see if I can achieve better with my next fill up!

2. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I don't think you'll be getting 3.7L/100km at 120km/h down the DVP or 401 :p.

But again, the car is new and you need to break in the tyres, the engine and the driver ;). You should be able to get closer to 5.0 or 5.1L/100km on the highway at 110km/h (I'm thinking maybe 4.7L/100km at a constant 100km/h?)

3. HaroldW

HaroldW Active Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    You may get those kind of numbers combined but not on steady free-way unless you keep your speeds around 100 kph. I just returned from a 55,000 kilometer trip with my 2006 Prius and when I returned home my car indicated 4.6 per 100 kilometers. H

4. wongnog

wongnog Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Technology
    Holy crap, where did you go on your 55,000 km trip, around the globe twice????

:)

jdurston and Cornelius Talmidge like this.
  5. HaroldW

HaroldW Active Member