Can't reset maintenance light

Discussion in 'Prius v Technical Discussion' started by Boston2008Gen2, Nov 18, 2021.

  1. Boston2008Gen2

    Boston2008Gen2 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    42
    0
    0
    Location:
    Austin TX
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    III
    My 2012 V 98k, I can't reset maintenance light with Trip A + Press km button + Double click power button.

    I have techstream but idk how to reset from the software either.

    pls help.
     
  2. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,026
    2,102
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Step three press and hold the km button while powering On (two presses without brake). Keep pressing the km button until you see 000000 on the Trip A reading.

    3A48BCFD-884E-416F-AA33-B2B32962F9F8.jpeg
     
    Tim Jones and jzchen like this.
  3. Boston2008Gen2

    Boston2008Gen2 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    42
    0
    0
    Location:
    Austin TX
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    III
    Yes that is exactly what I did. It doesn't work. I watched few YouTube videos as well. In step 3, nothing happens even after 30ses.
     
  4. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,026
    2,102
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Step 1 when its running, step 2 power off, step 3 holding the km button the whole time
     
    Tim Jones likes this.
  5. Boston2008Gen2

    Boston2008Gen2 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    42
    0
    0
    Location:
    Austin TX
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    III
    yes. I did that. Even my mechanic could not get it to reset
     
  6. Boston2008Gen2

    Boston2008Gen2 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    42
    0
    0
    Location:
    Austin TX
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    III
    Any blown fuse or any other way to reset?
     
  7. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,026
    2,102
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Does the km button switch between miles and km in normal use?
     
  8. sam spade 2

    sam spade 2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    5,728
    2,270
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    See a dealer.
    Note, however, that there is no time limit given to wait for the reset to happen.
    30 seconds might not be enough.

    AND......I know that you think you are doing it right but the odds are huge that you are NOT.
    I've been through this before and missed a tiny detail.

    Get a friend to read the instructions above.
    Tell him to follow it PRECISELY.....and do not "coach" him along the way.
    You might be surprised at the result.
     
    Tim Jones, JObe and Boston2008Gen2 like this.
  9. burrito

    burrito Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2021
    263
    95
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    This! Make sure that button actually works (or that you're pressing it the right way).
     
    #9 burrito, Nov 19, 2021
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2021
    Boston2008Gen2 likes this.
  10. gromittoo

    gromittoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    583
    197
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    If you are driving down the road, and you press the MPH/KPH button, does the number representing your speed go up? 55MPH should jump to something close to 100KPH. If the number on the speedometer does not change, the switch is disconnected or broken. Since the Hazard switch uses the same connector, do your hazard lights work?

    You can pry the entire panel that includes the Power, Park, Hazard and KPH/MPH button using finger force only. Check if someone accidentally unplugged it or if it is loose.

    20211120_115400.jpg

    Back of Panel:
    20211120_115345.jpg
     
    Boston2008Gen2 likes this.
  11. Boston2008Gen2

    Boston2008Gen2 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    42
    0
    0
    Location:
    Austin TX
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    III
    Button is working. But still cannot reset the maintenance light
     
  12. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,026
    2,102
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    How about showing us a pic of the light?
     
    vvillovv and burrito like this.
  13. Boston2008Gen2

    Boston2008Gen2 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    42
    0
    0
    Location:
    Austin TX
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    III
    Please see the picture.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,026
    2,102
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    That is the maintenance light. To reset it the Trip A display must be on. Then you power down. While continuously holding the km button, you power up (top pic) without the brake. As you hold the km button, the Trip A display will go to dashes (-----) then decrease to (-) then change to (00000). Maintenance light then clears.

    247570FE-E313-4B7C-8256-0B1EBD17D50A.jpeg
     
    #14 rjparker, Nov 25, 2021 at 7:40 PM
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2021 at 8:00 PM
    Boston2008Gen2 likes this.
  15. gromittoo

    gromittoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    583
    197
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    How come you don't have your odometer displayed? Hit the Trip button on the right side of the steering wheel until the odometer for "Trip A" is displayed. "Trip A" must be visible for the reset to work.

    When you press the "Trip" Button, it cycles between four different Odometer displays:
    - The Actual Odometer
    - The "Trip a" odometer
    - The "Trip b" odometer
    - Blank (no numbers displayed at all).

    Looks like @rjparker beat me to explaining it.

    TipA.jpg

    I actually ran outside in the rain in my night clothes to get this picture!
     
  16. Boston2008Gen2

    Boston2008Gen2 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    42
    0
    0
    Location:
    Austin TX
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    III
    Thank you Gromittoo and rjparker.

    I will try again tomorrow.
     
  17. gromittoo

    gromittoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    583
    197
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    This has me thinking. My 2017 Prius v just started displaying the words "Maintenance Required" on the 4 inch LCD display a few days ago. Time for its first Oil Change under my ownership. That car is in Delaware with my wife at her sisters for a few days. Sunday will be its inaugural oil change.

    I don't know if the same procedure is used on the newer style instrument cluster to get rid of the "Maintenance Required" message that the 2012-2014 Prius v's use to get rid of the "Mint. Reqrd" light. Note the Prius v' 2015-2017 "two" still uses has the old style Instrument cluster, but my 2017 Prius v is a four.
     
  18. lrisius

    lrisius Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    101
    40
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    [QUOTE="I don't know if the same procedure is used on the newer style instrument cluster to get rid of the "Maintenance Required" message that the 2012-2014 Prius v's use to get rid of the "Mint. Reqrd" light. Note the Prius v' 2015-2017 "two" still uses has the old style Instrument cluster, but my 2017 Prius v is a four.[/QUOTE]

    On my 2015 v Level 3 this is the procedure in the manual but it doesn't work. I don't totally recall the process of the top of my head but it starts with cycling through the displays to get to one that looks like a dot (or just a round circle with no words.) Hit enter or select there and you get to the reset pretty quickly.

    I found a youtube video showing the process that I have to follow.
     
  19. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sand Pounder

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    45,462
    32,454
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    What the heck was Toyota thinking when they came up with this:

    upload_2021-11-26_7-29-1.png

    Much easier to understand/follow:

     
  20. sam spade 2

    sam spade 2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    5,728
    2,270
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    Note that with my C, that comes on after 5K miles for tire rotation even though the oil change interval is longer.
    I just ignore it for another 2K or so and than do both at the same time.
    Which is late for the tires but early for the oil.
     
Loading...