1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Car Computer installed.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by Presto, Jun 17, 2005.

1. Presto

Presto Has his homepage set to PC

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Been working on the entertainment system in the Prius for a few weeks now. This last week was getting the final piece installed: the computer and touchscreen. The computer is nothing special... just a mobo with on-board video/sound/usb running a 600Mhz Celery processor. It was pulled out of my old car, and I didn't see a reason to spend more money than necessary.

The screen is Xenarc 700-IDT in-dash touchscreen. There were cheaper screens, but I've been using Xenarc for the past 3 years and they do the job nicely. Taking apart the dash was easy thanks to instructions posted here. The hard part was actually getting the screen installed into the slot below the stereo. I had to drill some holes into the bracket and grind down some metal to get the screen in there.

The main purpose of the computer is to provide music. I have my entire library of Mp3s in there. I've also loaded it with various vids to watch if i have to wait around. I also have wireless so I can get access from any open network. In the near future, I'll be installing a GPS for road trips and pin-pointing wireless networks. A computer is not for everyone, but I like the versatility of having a computer vs a dvd deck that can play dvds/mp3s. This ends up being less expensive as well. How 'bout that? :)

Here's a pic of the installed screen. I'll post up more pics if people are interested in seeing more of the setup. I really need to clean up the amp rack, though. I've had to do some changes from what was originally intended so it looks a bit like a bird's nest right now

[Broken External Image]:http://intdata.homeip.net/albums/dansprius/IMG_0125.sized.jpg

2. AfonsoSilva

AfonsoSilva New Member

Hi Presto,