1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Car still running?

Discussion in 'Prius c Main Forum' started by Baby B, Nov 15, 2013.

1. Baby B

Baby B Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    Newbie here. Is there a warning or alert that lets you know that the car is still running while in park and unoccupied. The car is so quiet when the ICE is not running,but the ignition is still on. I have the smart key,push button model C. Just trying to avoid the old "dumbass left his car running in closed garage and went to sleep forever"headline. Thanks.

2. JarOfAlmonds

JarOfAlmonds Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    I've fallen victim to that before and thankfully I've found out (and you will too through time) that the Prius C will make all sorts of noises when you forget to turn something off. Both leaving the lights on and having the engine running will emit a steady loud *BEEEEEEEEEEEP* once the smart key leaves the interior of the car and the door is open.

I'm not sure what happens if you close the door while the smart key is outside the car... maybe someone else can pipe in on that, and if the beep stops.

3. Baby B

Baby B Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    Hello J O A. Yesterday i backed car out of garage so i could access something,then i pulled car back in, and stepped out of car,but did not shut down engine(start button) and had the key in my pocket and door closed. I did here 3 beeps,but thats about it. I know the dashboard shows warning flashes and the control panels are still lit,but other than that there is complete silence.

4. AliIzad

AliIzad Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    Baby B,