CarPC Help

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by TheParadox66b, Jul 10, 2006.

  1. I am working on putting a carPC into my prius. I have looked and found a nice and smart DC-DC Power supply which will turn on when the cars ignition is turned on and shutdown gracefully when the ignition is turned off...

    The diagram is here and its in PDF format. My question is, does anyone have a clue how this works? and does anyone know what i need to do so that (i know this sounds pretty simple) when i press the power button, the computer turns on?

    i don't understand how one lead going to the ignition, makes a complete circuit. any ideas, or better yet, anyone know what wires i have to mess with?
     
  2. c4

    c4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    607
    50
    0
    One lead going to the ignition is a complete circuit because the ground lead going to the battery is the other half... The power supply uses a common ground for everything..

    For auto-on, see page 3 of the manual, just connect J8/J9 to the power on/off switch leads on the motherboard and the computer will automatically boot when your car is started.
     
  3. <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(c4 @ Jul 10 2006, 09:36 AM) [snapback]283772[/snapback]</div>
    ah, i understand, that makes sense.

    ...but what wire do i have to tap? color? eh? or am i just going to have to figure this one out?
     
  4. jkusnetz

    jkusnetz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    55
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(TheParadox @ Jul 10 2006, 03:35 PM) [snapback]283997[/snapback]</div>
    For the continuous 12V I ran a wire directly from the battery in the back, using the same guage wire that my powersupply used.

    For the 12V ignition I tapped the 12V cigarette lighter power. You could also tap the 12V ignition from the wire going to the JBL amp (if you have the JBL), that's what I did for my subwoofer.

    I'm sure there are other places to get the 12V ignition (it's just a wire that carries 12V when the car is on, and nothing when the car is off)
     
  5. ilusnforc

    ilusnforc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    404
    14
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Could you give us more information about your CarPC install and maybe with pictures too? I am curious what CarPC your are installing, or what parts you are using... What screen? Where are you mounting the PC? Etc...

    Thanks!
     
  6. mrbigh

    mrbigh Prius Absolutum Dominium

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    3,686
    693
    2
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    Hi Ilusnforc, a while ago I installed my Carputer, these pictures may give you some generic ideas on what to do. PRESTO and other members had also installed a carputer, do a search in PC.
    Later I will publish the hardware listing and some more details about it.
    1Placing components
    2same view 2
    3puting things together
    4Touchscreen LCDMonitor UP
    5Part of other components, Pwr Amp, CAN-View & Video Converter
    6Carputer under passenger seat & DVD drive access
    7Media Center screen
    8CAN-View screen shared with LCD monitor
    9OBDII software loaded
    10Addition of power switch in front of PC
     
  7. Well im first like to say that im sorry for not reply sooner i have been busy with school and been looking around.

    I am building this "Car-putter" from scratch. And i will show you pictures as i follow through. I would also like to say thank you to jkusnetz for the 12v supply. I never thought about that and that makes alot of sense, i feel so stupid for not thinking up thinks like that.

    The computer is going to be under the passeneger seat and will include a Pentium Core Duo processor. Im haven't desided on its speed yet. Im looking to run winXP MCE and use a 7" touchscreen mounted under the radio shack. I will run the audio into the car via the aux input and plan on further upgrading the car's audio properties by putting in a JBL 8" sub and using an old 12" JL sub. 400 watts is good enough for me, and the computer will only use at max 150 so im well within the confines of my power requirements.

    ...however i have found a problem. When i play music with my car on acc mode, i notice the ceiling lights dim pretty bad. im looking at getting an Optima deep cycle and it looks like a size 51 will fit perfectly, i'll give details on it later. i also might put a capacitor in to help stablize the power demand on the car to keep me way within my limits.

    The computer will have GPS and Blue tooth, im looking at possible wireless broadband too for it...

    im open to ideas and thanks again

    ...has anyone seen the intieor lights dim while playing music in acc mode... do you have the stock, JBL or custom speakers...

    ...i have the infinity's that seem to be pretty popular, the difference is amazing
     
  8. ScubaX

    ScubaX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    484
    1
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    You may want to check out this computer wattage calculator . I don't know what your looking for in graphics and memory, HD's etc but I think your looking at more than 150w using a core duo. If your at 65w with a core-duo and add a MB of 25w you will already be at 90w and still need a graphic card. If your looking for gaming performance graphic's at even a moderate end you will be looking at 50w for that. That would be 140w and you would still need memory, HD, DVD/CD, USB, Fan, Blue Tooth, Keyboard, etc. Core duo's also run very hot - that means a bigger fan and more noise in the car.
     
  9. <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(ScubaX @ Jul 25 2006, 10:20 PM) [snapback]292349[/snapback]</div>
    I've already calculated out everything. the board use about 65watts, 25 watts for mem. the video is onboard as with everything else, and notebook HDs only use 2 watts, note book DVD burners use only 10 at best.

    also acording to intel's site, the duo uses 31, and leaves my "65" watt figure on the mainboard stuff, the mobo mainfacurer doesn't have any specs, look up a commell "LV-677"

    there are duo's that only use 9 watts too...

    ...this power supply calc is better than the one i used, thanks
     
  10. Presto

    Presto Has his homepage set to PC

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    1,326
    23
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Do you have the computer already? If you're still waiting on purchasing it, you may want to consider something with a little less processing power which should lower the cost and power demands. There's not really any need for that much processing power in the car unless you plan on running some processor intensive applications.

    I'd still be using my Celery 600 since that had no problem with music, movies, gps or Internet, but I switched up to a 1.3Ghz Mini-ITX board for something more compact, and a little more current. There has been no lag and boot up time is about 30 seconds.
     
  11. <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Presto @ Jul 26 2006, 02:29 PM) [snapback]292680[/snapback]</div>
    ...The Duo i was looking at is 1.2ghz and uses 9 watts... bring up the specification chart, it won't let me link that popup window directly.
     
  12. Here is a list of everything that i plan on getting for my carPC...

    i thought it would be a good idea to list everything out and take feed back...

    ...power is a major concern to me and i estimate that i need somewhere between 130 to a 140 watts, which is pretty low for a computer, but i think i can pull it off with the low power comsumtion of the CPU and HDD i am looking at.

    The Mobo, Even the site that sells it says i should get a >120 watt power supply... probally a good choice.

    HDD - Only 2.1 watts
    Probally this DVD/CD Writer... 10 watts full load.

    Am i out to lunch or do you guys think i should re think my lineup for the psu i already bought? 150 was the largest the maker i like made... i guess i am kinda cutting it close.

    i also got an 80mm fan that draws 2 watts and the cpu cooler will be 2 or 3 watts...

    Edit: Grr you guys are making me paranoid... i just did that calculator for the 3rd time and overestimated the CPU, HDD and DVD writter, saying that peak power would be 151 watts... im not going to be able to sleep tonight if i keep thinking a mad a big mistake.... grrr...
     
  13. Presto

    Presto Has his homepage set to PC

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    1,326
    23
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Ah a Pentium Duo... sorry, I misunderstood... I was thinking Pentium D. :)

    151 watts is a peak value and you'll rarely hit that, much less sustain that kind of consumption. Your current PSU will be fine.
     
  14. <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(mrbigh @ Jul 15 2006, 12:26 PM) [snapback]286751[/snapback]</div>

    ...what did you use for the "Media Center" app your using, and how did you patch can view into your CarPC? Does this mean its possible to run CANView on an 06' with the newer screen and display it on a carPC like you did?
     
  15. ScubaX

    ScubaX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    484
    1
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(TheParadox @ Jul 26 2006, 02:21 PM) [snapback]292767[/snapback]</div>
    So it's the Centrino Duo Core? The U2500? I could not find it for sale on any sites I checked. Have you located a source? The only reference to the chip I found outside of Intel, said it was a planned release, but that article was in Jan.
     
  16. mrbigh

    mrbigh Prius Absolutum Dominium

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    3,686
    693
    2
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    this is the Link for the media interface you asked for.
    How you can see, I also run CANView thru and external monitor and switches back to the carputer app. ;)
     
  17. CrazyRussian

    CrazyRussian Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    42
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(mrbigh @ Jul 15 2006, 09:26 AM) [snapback]286751[/snapback]</div>
    mrbigh,

    I noticed in the picture #7 you have a mouse on the passenger seat. Why dont you install a bluetooth remote control device that will act as a mouse. I'm sure there are plenty to choose from.
     
  18. ilusnforc

    ilusnforc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    404
    14
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(CrazyRussian @ Aug 3 2006, 09:13 AM) [snapback]296995[/snapback]</div>
    Or a USB Touch Screen...
     
  19. mrbigh

    mrbigh Prius Absolutum Dominium

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    3,686
    693
    2
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(CrazyRussian @ Aug 3 2006, 12:13 PM) [snapback]296995[/snapback]</div>
    Hi CR, this picture is about 5 month old but things regarding the carputer have not changed a lot inside of my car.
    Yes I know that there is more advanced harware available but I really do not use the mouse a lot, really, once in a blue moon or for loading specifics app or reprograming something while NOT in motion. (And I hatte pairing my bluethooth phone to my PC!!!)
    My LCD monitor is touch screen, the front end is programed properly and I can load any program at ease or to turn the PC off, for me thats more than enogh for a Carputer being used on the road, mostly for GPS and Mapping software as necessary.
    I store the mouse inside of the arm rest compartment and the micro "corded" keyboard in the pouch behind the passenger seat .
    Everything works as a champ, with out any hardware conflicts and I like it this way, I realized that simpler is better.
    Regards
    Horacio

    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(ilusnforc @ Aug 3 2006, 12:38 PM) [snapback]297015[/snapback]</div>
    The Touch Screen LCD monitor that I assembled has an ELO overlay with an USB interface and works great!!! Total cost of the investment $450.00
     
Loading...