1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Cellphones and cancer risk

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by bredekamp, Jun 2, 2011.

1. bredekamp

bredekamp Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Right now cellphones use the 900/1800 and 1900MHz bands. It is alleged that the heating effect of such high frequencies on human cells is damaging in the long term.

With modern digital modulation systems, surely there must be a way to implement a cellular phone system using much lower frequencies? With Digital TV being rolled out some old TV frequencies could become free. There must be a way to adapt GSM for operation at VHF:
    - 174-216 MHz television channels 7 - 13
    or
    - 54-72 and 76-88 MHz channels 2 through 6

We don't have to forego the luxury of cellphones. Just drop the frequencies.

2. barcelona11

barcelona11 New Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Not being an expert myself, two things come to mind.
    1) lower frequencies have longer wavelengths, requiring a longer antenna.
    2) In the US, the analog TV bands have been allocated to emergency services and other purposes, not abandoned altogether, so they may not be available.

Information about the power output of cell phone models is available. When choosing a new model, look for lower power output to reduce the effects of the RF.

3. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Lower frequencies also offer lower bandwidth for the same amount of spectrum, which isn't a big deal for voice calls but bad for data. Keeping the same data speeds requires a bigger chunk of the spectrum.

Tom

4. oldasdust

oldasdust Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three