1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

change battery charge levels?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by johndgreene99, Mar 28, 2006.

1. johndgreene99

johndgreene99 New Member

i'm new to prius chat. i bought a 2006 prius about 2 months ago.

i'm wondering if it's possible for the user (driver) to change the battery levels at which the prius uses the engine to charge the battery.

i commute about 35 miles each way, and there is a big hill in the middle (about 1900 feet elevation). i find that the engine continues to charge the battery, keeping it at blue level during ascent. on the descent, the battery gets full. after the battery is full, i figure that it is no longer charging, so i am losing ability to store that energy. i would like to be able to discharge the battery more on the ascent so that there is more headroom available to charge it on the descent.

does anyone know of a way to affect the charge kick-in level?

thanks
    john g

2. DaveinOlyWA

DaveinOlyWA 3rd Time was Solariffic!!

Vehicle:
    2013 Nissan LEAF
    Model:
    Persona
    nope... preventing user settable options in this area is the ONLY way Toyota would provide as long a warantee.

to put it in perspective. if properly maintained, a cellphone battery should last 3-5 years. most last less than 2. that is because we control the recharging.

3. jeneric

jeneric New Member

This is info, not advise, probably not even good info, but maybe you can shed more light on it with your daily commute. You can drain your battery by accelerating hard enough, so it can't charge the battery, and when you start going too fast, shift to Neutral. When you start going too slow, repeat acceleration. The hard acceleration probably wastes more energy than you're gaining. Plus it's probably not the safest way to drive.