1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Chassis stiffening plate on '06?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by jfritz, Nov 13, 2005.

1. jfritz

jfritz New Member

I've been lurking for months but feel like I can finally post.......I placed the "official" order for my 06 Seaside Pearl this weekend. :D I actually put a $500 deposit down over 6 weeks ago but the dealer finally had the price for each package and I finally settled on the color. I've been driving the same VW Passat wagon for 15 years and I decided I could justify some extras.

I added a bunch of goodies: Package 8, the rear bumper applique and after market items: tinted windows, 3M "invisibra" protection on the nose, and WeatherTech mats. Will take delivery in mid-January.

I was wondering if any of you knew if Toyota followed BT Tech's lead and added the stiffening plate or if its the same as 05?

For those of you out there who have added the stiffening plate, can you give me a "real world" analysis of the difference it made and whether its worth the $160?

JFritz
    Decorah, Iowa
    (8,500 in our town, over a dozen Prii!)

2. cairo94507

cairo94507 Active Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I have the '05 loaded package and I would recommend the stiffening plate, small rear spoiler painted to match the car and a set of 17" Scion (Toyota) wheels. Those 3 changes made a big difference in my car.
    Good luck.

3. djasonw

djasonw Active Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I got the stiffening plate and it made a HUGE difference. I have the spoiler on order. If your 06 doesn't have it, get it. Easy to check. Just look under the car.

4. tumbleweed

tumbleweed Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Why did you wait so long? I live in a small town too, 14,000, but I think we only have about 3 or 4 prii.