1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Cheaper Catshield Alternatives

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by brycwh, Dec 19, 2021.

1. brycwh

brycwh New Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    so I purchased this cheaper cat shield:
    and wanted to see if anyone could confirm that it looks like a decent alternative to the more expensive ones out there. Or, maybe someone has a good recommendation for a cheaper alternative? I’m a college student on a pretty tight budget that has to travel to California for some personal business pretty often in the coming months.

2. alanclarkeau

alanclarkeau Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I go back to my old question - has a Gen 4 PRIUS (now pushing 6yrs old) - ever had a Cat stolen?

Nobody has reported a single one on Prius Chat. So I suspect it's NONE.

One of the Cats needs the engine removed (almost) to find it anyway. And the other is so small, I suspect the serious thieves wouldn't bother.

3. xliderider

xliderider Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hmm, I find it telling that they don't tell you the material that the shield is made of, just that it's "aluminum". Well so is aluminum foil lol.

I suppose some kind of shield is better than no shield, and may deter a thief based on the presence of something there, even if it may not be a harder heat tempered alloy like 7XXX or 6XXX, etc.

When you get it, try flexing it. It should be very rigid and difficult to bend. If it flexes easily, then it is probably made of soft aluminum.

Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.

4. amos

amos Active Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Yes stolen.
    Not mine but to a friend of mine in the parking lot of her work in the middle of the day. Cost was $1600

5. alanclarkeau

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A