1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Check Hybrid System Warning after Manifold Cleaning no Mini VCI

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by H2Oski17, Oct 24, 2020.

1. H2Oski17

H2Oski17 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    (Longtime reader, first time poster)
    Thanks Prius Chat! Wanted to give it some credit because this forum helped me solve a "Check Hybrid System" warning.
    My 2011 Prius III just turned 100K so with AMPLE time on my hands due CV-19 I decided to tackle a few preventative maintenance items all at once: new spark plugs, drain/fill engine coolant, and also clean the entire EGR stream...even if it was 20K miles early...I have the time to do it now which is unusual.

I'm a DIY hobbyist on the level of oil changes, rotations, plugs, etc.The EGR cooler cleaning seemed at my limit...but decided to tackle it having watched the excellent videos by Nuts about Bolts.
    I went slow and actually enjoyed the challenge. It was extremely satisfying to clean the EGR cooler. I used the Easy-Off technique (multiple baths followed by poking a dog fence wire marker through). I got the cooler fully clean and shiny. Plugs came out and went in easy. Coolant drain fill was normal (I only did the engine coolant, not inverter...will do that around 150K). Reassembly of the entire EGR components seemed normal....I was very slow and methodical. I put in a new PCV Valve and used a new air intake gasket. Had no extra nuts/bolts at the end and I was feeling good/proud of my work.