1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Child seat or electric chair? Suspect corrosion has me concerned

Discussion in 'Gen 1 Prius Plug-in 2012-2015' started by lewisjohn, Jan 2, 2018.

1. lewisjohn

lewisjohn Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    N/A

I have had two new child seats installed uninterrupted for about four months since I bought my second hand 2012 Plug In. No problems to report apart from this one, that concerns me somewhat...

I was giving the car an overdue clean over the break, pulled out the seat on the driver side (UK, so right side - same as the socket) and noticed some hard white corrosion on top of both ISOFIX clamps (see image attached). The other car seat did not have this.

Now, I am not an electrician but I have noticed similar corrosion on household battery-operated devices, especially when the batteries have been leaking. This leads me to worry that electricity is passing between the ISOFIX clamps that are connected via a metal strut under the child seat.

Does anyone have an alternative explanation becasue it is making me nervous...

PS There is no obvious dampness or other reason I could think of for this - and drinks are strictly forbidden in the car!

Thanks!
    20171227_144155-774x1032 - Copy.jpg

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    sorry, i can't really tell what i'm looking at.(n)

3. wjtracy

wjtracy Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Well you have a Li ion battery in that PiP. The electrolyte in there is an organic (flammable) fluid. I do not know if we would expect the same sort of salty looking corrosion that is more familiar with Alkaline batteries or NiMH batteries, which have a corrosive aqueous solution.