1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

climateprediction.net

Discussion in 'Environmental Discussion' started by petteri, Dec 9, 2004.

1. petteri

petteri New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Hey!

Here's a program that runs on your computer while your not using it. Take a look at:

http://climateprediction.net/

I've been using it for a few months now. Apologies if this has been posted here before. Works as a screensaver too!

:p

2. petteri

petteri New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Bumpy bump bump!

Does any one here run a BOINC based project on their computer? SETI@HOME or climateprediction....?

3. rohlrogge

rohlrogge Rich

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Yes, in fact I run 3 of these programs, SETI, BOINC (Weather Prediction) and UD Agent on 3 different computers. I've been doing it for years and it gives one a good feeling that you may be contributing to some positive scientific result in your onion little way. And then there is always the excitement of just maybe your computer will find that first sign of extra-terrestrial intelligence out there. The only downside is when these programs do run (whether all the time or only when your PC is idle) it basically means your PC is running at some higher level of capacity and if you have a machine with a noisy fan you will here it running all the time (I just close the door and the let the machines do there thing). 8)

4. TonyPSchaefer

TonyPSchaefer Your Friendly Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced