1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

coasting vs. gliding

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by harper42, Jul 27, 2006.

1. harper42

harper42 Member

I read that the "ideal" is to pulse and glide; however, when I do so, I'm getting like 79 mpg. When I just coast, I get 99.9 mpg. So, why is the glide better? I'm still new at this, but it's fun trying out the tricks, seeing if I can raise that average.

2. edselpdx

edselpdx Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    If your car is warmed up and you are truly "gliding" (no arrows), you are using no gas and no electricity...should show "99 MPG". Coasting is green arrows which are charging your batteries and slowing you down slightly. Gliding is no arrows and no use. Someone correct me if I'm wrong here.
    Sonya

3. harper42

harper42 Member

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(edselpdx @ Jul 27 2006, 07:40 PM) [snapback]293604[/snapback]</div>

If coasting is 99 and charging my battery, and glide is 99 and doing nothing, why isn't coasting better. Sorry guys, just trying to understand all of this.

4. Cheap!

Cheap! New Member

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(dulcimer @ Jul 27 2006, 09:47 PM) [snapback]293610[/snapback]</div>

Coasting is 99 MPG and charging your battery. The energy removed from your coast is sent to the battery, but you have lost some energy due to friction in the motor, and you've lost more due to friction in the wires, and you've lost more due to the chemical makeup of the battery. Now you get to a point that you need that power again and you press the accelerator to go faster, but you loose some energy in the battery, more in the wires, more in the motor, and still more due to wheel bearings, and finally more due to road friction.

Glide is 99 and doing nothing. You maintain your glide longer since there is no power generation friction. You go further longer and use less energy, and use the ICE less.