1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Cold Weather Consumption

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by billarb, Feb 7, 2008.

1. billarb

billarb New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    This question has probably been answered before, but I couldn't locate a discussion that's on this point. I recall reading that, in cold weather, it's best to shut off the heater until you've driven for several miles. I'm not very technically inclined so I'm wondering if someone could explain the theory/advantage behind doing this? This evening when I left work, I shut off the heater before starting and didn't turn it on until I drove about 2-3 miles. (Fortunately, it wasn't too cold this evening on Long Island!) If this is a real gas saver, I'd do this every time I use the car (at least until spring arrives:):))

Thanks in advance for the explanation!

Bill

2. icarus

icarus Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    First, Read the posts on grill blocking and it will answer most of your questions better.

In short, the engine needs need to run efficiently. It will run all the time until the coolant reaches ~120f. It really wants to run ~185. Since the heater is only getting "waste heat" from the engine, running it with a cold engine will only draw down your mileage. (It is amazing how man people don't understand how car heaters work!)

I can drive 20 miles before my car is fully warm, and that is with the grilled blocked, and the temp ~40f. An engine block heater will help, because you will start with warm coolant.

Icarus

PS A gasoline engine will run most efficiently when it gets to it's design temp, in the case of the Prius ~190f. Running colder than that requires the ECU (computer) to run an extra rich air/fuel mixture to run properly,, wasting gas. Just as in the old cars, the choke served to richen the mixture to get it to run cold. Same with fuel injection.