1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

computer crash dump

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by perryma, Jul 6, 2009.

1. perryma

perryma New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    ok, put on your Geek Squad clip on ties and fire up the black and white VW. My HP computer is running Vista and I get a nice little "crash dump" every single day. How dangerous is this? The lastest thing installed is a Logitec webcam (that I haven't used yet) and outside of that I can make no connections to anything else. It is possible that I have had faceboook opened in one of the tabs every time it had crashed but I can't swear to it. Any help here?:(

2. eaglesight333

eaglesight333 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I am a computer consultant/tech. But i do not know everything.

1. having the crash dump occur everyday, is not exactly a good thing.

2. Do you know our specs of you computer? how old is it?

3. the crashed can be caused but any number of things. It has been awhile since I have come across a regularly occuring crash dump.

I normally start with making sure all devices and programs are updated. Then run virus and ad-aware scans.

There is a chance that something is corrupt with Windows, and a reinstall is needed. (make sure you back up data)

Finally, there is a minor chance that it could be hardware related. Most likely the Hard drive. On the chance it is hardware related, make sure you back up your info, so it is not lost.

If you were not so far away, I would offer to take a look at it. But let me know if you have tried any of this.

3. RobH

RobH Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I've found that System Restore is my friend. Whenever my system goes wonky, the first thing I try is to restore the system to a date before the problem started. Then I have to reinstall whatever got added after that date.