1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Considering 2013 Prius v purchase. 130k miles, $11k

Discussion in 'Prius v Main Forum' started by Bree_eli, Nov 8, 2022.

1. Bree_eli

Bree_eli New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    Hello!

New to the forum and to Prius in general. I’m hoping to buy a Prius v, but have a limited budget of about 12k. I have one option for a 2013 v with 130k miles, $11k. CarFax shows good basic maintenance but doesn’t go into a lot of detail. Single owner clean title.

I’m wondering if this seems like a worthwhile deal. Are the risks of potential head gasket issues big enough to scare me off of the 2012-2013 v’s? Is it a bigger risk than I might encounter buying a similar mileage Honda Fit? I’m not experienced with cars and I appreciate everyone’s thoughts!

What are the maintenance items I should look for that indicate a healthy head gasket? Or anything that I should watch out for that might indicate problems?

#1 Bree_eli, Nov 8, 2022
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2022
    bisco likes this.
  2. Georgina Rudkus

Georgina Rudkus Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    It depends on where the car lived its life. In the salt belt of Minnesota, I'd stay away.

!0 years and 100k miles is when the repair and maintenance costs add up for Prius cars.

My 2012 Prius v with 28k miles lived in the South with a rust free and rust proofing treated life with generally 3k or less oil changes done every 6 months religiously.

I would buy one like mine but not anty that's 10 years old with 130 k miles,

I'd find a Corolla or a Camry that has lived its entire life in the South with less than 100k miles on it. Unfortunately, those are snapped up quick and sold at a premium at dealers after they are traded in. That's the current market.

3. rjparker

rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three