1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Considering a used Prius- Questions!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by bergmanmelissa, Aug 10, 2010.

1. bergmanmelissa

bergmanmelissa New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I am a total newbie and my husband are thinking about buying a used Gen ii, probably 2007. I have lots of questions, I'm sure most of this has been discussed here on the forum, but I am hoping for some concise answers to help us make a decision.
    1. What MPG do you really get, and what kind of driving do you do? How is it affected by using the heat or A/C?
    2. Any maintenance issues? Should I expect costs similar to a non-hybrid? Any trouble finding a good mechanic or do you need to go to the dealership?
    3. How does it handle in the Winter? It can be pretty rough here in Boston.
    We really want a car like this, but want to make sure this is a smart thing to do. Thank you in advance for any help!
    -Melissa

2. donalmilligan089

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I just bought a 2006 with package 8. I love all the bells and whistles that only high dollar cars have ,especialy the hands free phone that talks to me through the radio and the back up camera. Ours are mostly short trips but to day We drove about 50 miles with two stops. AC was on entire time and when we pulled into out drive it was registeing 55.7 miles per gallon. I do my own maint. So do not depend on dealers. Oil and filter changes are all thats needed. Keep reading about oil capacities and tire pressures on Prius Chat

3. cwerdna

cwerdna Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius