1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Couple of Prius Questions...

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Jaibyrd, Aug 8, 2007.

1. Jaibyrd

Jaibyrd New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Okay, I've been reading around for a while on this site, which is extremely helpful if I may add, but I still have a couple of questions if someone could help me with them:

Question #1: Should I get the extended warranty? The dealership I got my Prius at recommended it, but wanted to sell it to me for $1,200. I'm a teacher and I really don't have that kind of money (especially after I did some fancy dancing to get my new baby), so I said no and they told me I only had 90 days to respond to that offer after that it goes up to $1,500 or was it at that price after the 3 years - either way it was phrased like a scare tactic and I didn't like it. Reading around here I see that isn't the case as long as I do it within the 3 years/36K mark, right? Still, even at the reduced price I see, at the moment I still can't swing it. If I do get the money together, should I get this or not?

Question #2: Does the type of gas effect the car? The guy who sold me the Prius (Who was not the guy who tried to push the extended warranty on me) said that he had "heard" that people who used Shell gasoline were getting 50 MPG on average. So, my brain said "Uh, does Shell have something with this dealership or something?" because that sounded too scripted to me...

Well, thank you ahead of time for helping me with these issues! :)

2. lenjack

lenjack Active Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    3 ys/36,000

any gas

3. doubleg2005

doubleg2005 Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A