1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

crashed -- HID headlight issue

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by san mateo, Jul 10, 2006.

1. san mateo

san mateo New Member

(total newbie here)

i just bought a slightly crashed 2005 package 6, which i believe has HID headlights, and which i am exciting about getting running and using. the driver's side headlamp is crunched beyond repair. looking on ebay, etc., i see the non-HID headlights are available, while the HID ones are not. but replacement HID bulbs abound on these same fora.

(1) can i just buy the non-HID headlight assembly, and put the HID bulbs in it?
    (2) more to the point: what is the cheapest and best method of replacing the headlight assembly?

any assistance greatly appreciated!

2. galaxee

galaxee mostly benevolent

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    you can be sure you have HIDs by looking for a yellow warning sticker right behind the assy under the hood.

it sounds like you'll need a new housing but not a new assy, check out autobeyours.com, they have some scrapped prius parts. you can use the computer you've got in there and get a new bulb if needed too.

3. san mateo

san mateo New Member

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(galaxee @ Jul 10 2006, 03:46 PM) [snapback]284130[/snapback]</div>
    thanks for the pointers; i think i should wait until the manual CD i ordered off ebay shows up so i know the difference between an "assembly" and a "housing", and why a computer has anything to do with headlights :)

4. KTPhil

KTPhil Active Member

HID lamps are leveled using info from a sensor on the rear axle. Halogens are mechanically-aimed only.

5. san mateo

san mateo New Member

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(KTPhil @ Jul 10 2006, 04:45 PM) [snapback]284159[/snapback]</div>
    cool! is this because they are more focussed and need better aiming? or just more expensive and have high-tech aiming bundled?

6. Tideland Prius