Danny Read This - Your Forum Software SUCKS!

Discussion in 'PriusChat Website Questions' started by Alyn99, Jul 23, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    95,337
    43,219
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    you mean i get my graph's and chart's back???(y)

    i don't mind.:X3:
     
  2. KennyGS

    KennyGS Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    1,243
    1,042
    1
    Location:
    Keystone State
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Well done.
     
  3. GregP507

    GregP507 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    3,002
    478
    0
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I can only imagine that running a forum like this very challenging at times, and I think looking at a few ads is a small price to pay for such a valuable resource. Some may not agree and complain bitterly, but I'm sure the majority would much rather see the forum support itself than not. Kudos to the moderators for allowing the sour grapes to express their opinions.

    As a "customer" what do you provide in exchange for that "service?" How much do you pay for what you receive?
     
  4. Stevevee

    Stevevee Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    799
    207
    0
    Location:
    Vermont
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    I think the new site got settled down pretty quickly. For me anyway, two different versions of Safari, and Chrome, work fast and no problems. Still some lag in the drop down menus disappearing, but nothing other than that.
     
  5. Epiphany2000

    Epiphany2000 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    126
    40
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    I have none of the delays & other issues that some (very few) people complain about when browsing the site either on a desktop or mobile platform. As an IT person, I suspect that the issues are on the user end. If they were on the server end, many more people would have the same issues.

    I wonder what would happen if the complainants used a public or a friend's computer to access the site. Again, I suspect that the problems would go away.

    There are many things which can cause browsing problems such as add-ons, toolbars, and operating systems which have simply become dirty/corrupt over time. If I could see the problem replicated on multiple machines with different browsers/configurations, then I'd be more inclined to blame the server side.
     
    ftl likes this.
  6. Easy Rider

    Easy Rider Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    982
    209
    0
    Location:
    N. Central Florida
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    From one "IT person" to another, how do you explain the 502 errors that I get occasionally......which point directly to a problem with the server or a proxy at the HOST END ????

    And note that I see absolutely no problem at all........until I log in.
    Then the response goes to hell.

    A corruption in the user database can cause some users to have problems but not others.

    Or inept software that has tried to block me but can't quite get the job done.
     
  7. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sand Pounder

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    46,027
    32,868
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
  8. ftl

    ftl Explicator

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    1,812
    790
    0
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    From yet another IT guy (and former electronics engineer, who knows from 40 years' experience that a lot of troubleshooting consists of eliminating variables one by one), how about trying this and reporting back?
     
    Epiphany2000 likes this.
  9. Stevevee

    Stevevee Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    799
    207
    0
    Location:
    Vermont
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Changing the title of the thread, or opening another, would be helpful. Only those that have issues could post their

    Machine
    specs
    browser used and version
    OS and version

    Find a common denominator
     
    ftl likes this.
  10. Easy Rider

    Easy Rider Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    982
    209
    0
    Location:
    N. Central Florida
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    I have and I have.
    Cleaned history, cache and cookies.
    Change browsers.
    Cleaned again.
    Cleaned registry.
    Went to wife's computer.
    Tried it on my cell phone......which uses an entirely different network.

    When it doesn't work for ME, it doesn't work from anywhere.

    About 2 weeks after it started happening, the problem magically disappeared for about 2 weeks.
    I had changed nothing at that time.
    Then it re-appeared.
    I had changed nothing at that time either.

    Talked to my ISP at length yesterday. They agreed that the problem was at the far end.
    They also gave me a number for Chrome support.
    In the next few days I will try to see if there is a way I can log a session to see what really is happening.

    The sad part is that even if I am able to pinpoint the location of the problem I don't think it will do any good as Danny seems to be ignoring me now just like a pesky gnat flying around his head.

    If it was any other site I probably would just leave.
    But this seems to be THE premier Prius site now and I hate to give up on it.
    That is because of the users present and NOT because of the owner.

    OH, and incidentally, if I switch over to the STORE, where I do not have a login.......things work perfectly or almost so. Switch back to being logged into the forums.......choke again.

    So, IT guru's: How about thinking about ALL of that evidence for a while and telling me where YOU think the problem is.
     
    #70 Easy Rider, Jul 30, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2014
  11. ftl

    ftl Explicator

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    1,812
    790
    0
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    If you think the problem may be tied to your PriusChat account (as you suggested in post #66 above) rather than your hardware, software or connection, why not try setting up a new account and see how it responds?
     
    Epiphany2000 likes this.
  12. GregP507

    GregP507 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    3,002
    478
    0
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Sounds like a malware to me. It doesn't add up that the site is to blame; no one else is having the same problem exactly. It's easy to get infected from places like porn site etc. I'd recommend something like the Fix-me Stick. It works where other security software fails in my experience.
     
  13. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    95,337
    43,219
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    i vote for the 'banned but didn't work completely' theory.
     
    ursle and markabele like this.
  14. windstrings

    windstrings Certified Prius Breeder

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    6,278
    372
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I use Tapatalk on my phone ... No ads
     
  15. xliderider

    xliderider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    7,178
    2,723
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Agree on Tap a Talk, no ads and makes this forum infinitely better on a mobile device.

    Without Tap a Talk, I can't stand the pop-up as shown in post #31.

    SCH-I535
     
  16. mtbiker53

    mtbiker53 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    87
    22
    0
    Location:
    cape cod
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Works good with Firefox for me.
    steve.............
     
  17. testuserER

    testuserER Guest

    0
    I have found the cause of the problem.
    It is something with the user files at the PriusChat server.......or that user banning in the software just simply does not work.

    I created this test user and everything works absolutely fine.......except for the "post preview balloon"......which does work with IE11.

    It may have something to do with me initially creating my account via Facebook; when I was experimenting with logging off and back on again, it went totally bananas when trying to use Facebook again.

    So......I will be creating another "permanent" user in the next few days, without using Facebook, and that should solve the problem, for me at least. I still think that the owner should be worried about how many other users might have just left in disgust.
     
  18. ftl

    ftl Explicator

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    1,812
    790
    0
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    Glad to hear that one of the many suggestions made in this thread finally resolved your issue!
     
  19. KennyGS

    KennyGS Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    1,243
    1,042
    1
    Location:
    Keystone State
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    How many usernames are we allowed to have? Doesn't this site have an IP address "account trip" set up?
     
  20. CaliforniaBear

    CaliforniaBear Clearwater Blue Metallic

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    1,174
    287
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Not everyone has a fixed IP address.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.