1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Dealer vs. Independent

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by JSinCA, Sep 14, 2010.

1. JSinCA

JSinCA New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm new to having a Prius (2005). Do owners generally have them serviced by a dealer because of their uniqueness or are independent shops well equiped to service them? If it's okay to use an independent shop, is there a resource for finding a shop that is experienced with hyprids?

2. jdenenberg

jdenenberg EE Professor

Vehicle:
    2020 Prius
    Model:
    LE AWD-e
    There are a small number of great independent Prius repair facilities. Three that I have heard great things about are:

I have not found an independent locally and of the three dealers I have used, only one does a good job and that's only because I usually have done my research before going to them.

Good luck, JeffD

3. bwilson4web

bwilson4web BMW i3 and Model 3

Vehicle:
    2018 Tesla Model 3
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    To Jeffery's list, I would add this one from an article published earlier this month:

Preferred Independent Hybrid Car Repair and Service Shops | Hybrid Cars

Now there was some question about Craig Van Batenburg . . . who is he and why should we care?

Craig runs an independent, hybrid training school. I first learned about his "Up The Voltage," 5-day seminar years ago from good Prius friend Hobbit. But the distance, time and expense worked against my being able to take this seminar. Happily, he has started 'distance learning' by using Web based seminars so I decided to try one:

REVIEW: Online Hybrid 101 Part 2 "What Makes a Hybrid different from a conventional car? An Overview"