1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Dealers in Hiding - I inquired at 20 locations in Texas

Discussion in 'Dealers & Pricing' started by enerjazz, Mar 5, 2004.

1. enerjazz

enerjazz Energy+Jazz=EnerJazz

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I've been monitoring a few Prius groups for many, many months. Since lead time seems to be increasing I decided to plop down a deposit and get in queue. I e-mailed the 20 closest dealers (Dallas area) and ask if they were charging MSRP, how many names were on their wait list, what their recent monthly allocations have been, and a few other questions.

Of the 20 dealers only 6 bothered to respond. The first response (Toyota of Dallas) sent this "Good luck on your search..... As most dealers, we have a market adjustment..... Ours is only $2,000!!" He's out of the running.

Only 2 of the dealers told me the length of their list and gave me a price (both MSRP). One list in town was 24 deep. The other in a small town 90 miles away was 8 (but they have only received one car total to date).

I went to the Dallas Auto Show today and quizzed the heck out of the Toyota reps for any tips or advice. One wanted to know how I knew so much - I, of course, credited the group. No real tips other than what I've learned here, though they scowled when I mentioned the folks asking way over MSRP.

Finally, on my way home I stopped at the closest dealership and asked for a manager who could give me the straight scoop on their order process. They gave me a written quote at MSRP with only one addition - the dreaded Port Package (13 misc items from tape stripe to a first aid kit) for $930. I asked if I could delete that and they said yes.