1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Decrease in MPGs after installing Optima Yellowtop

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by James2005, Apr 28, 2012.

1. James2005

James2005 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I am new to the Prius world (4 weeks in) and have a 2005 Prius (level 4 i think, HIDs and smartkey) with roughly 110K miles. Twice in the last 4 weeks I have gotten strange messages on the 7" screen (MFD?) one said something about having the vehicle on a flat surface before placing in park and the second issue was not starting and getting the RED triangle. Both times I was able to get the car to stop and or start by playing around with the START button and/or switching key fobs.

After doing some searching on the forums I concluded that I should probably replace the OEM 12V battery. Most of what I read suggested replacing with the Optima Yellowtop battery. So I ordered the battery from ELearnAid and it arrived in 2 days from the date of order (that is to the EastCoast!)

I followed the directions provided in the box and was able to complete the battery swap in under 20 minutes. Once I had everything completed I took the car for a spin to make sure everything was working. I did not use a 12V back-up battery as I didn't think it was necessary and i have no issue with resetting the radio, one-touch window and odometer.

The issues:

1.)

I drove the car to perform several errands and noticed that the gas engine kicked-in at around 11MPH regardless of the slope of the road I was on. Before the battery swap I noticed the gas engine would kick-in around 35MPH. I also noticed I averaged around 35 MPG for roughly 18-25 miles of driving. On these same roads I think that MPG should have been in the mid 40s.

2.)