1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Delete egr - yes or no?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Rodbuilder, Mar 29, 2022.

1. Rodbuilder

Rodbuilder New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I was an engine builder in California in the 80s and its really comucal to read all of the posts her about the egr because half of them are from people who have no idea what the egr does, or is for!!

That said, and knowing that disabling the egr has NOTHING to do with a head gasket problem,:

1. who here has deleted the egr on a 2012 Prius?

2. How did you do that and what were the results?

I dont understand why Toyota used such a small tube to carry the gasses because its nothing but a trap and is 100% bound to plugging up at some point in time.

So whats the cure for the Prius egr: removing it, or servicing it?

douglasjre likes this.
  2. schja01

schja01 One of very few in Chicagoland

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I thought it was a no no to mess with emission related components. As in modify, disable detete.

douglasjre likes this.
  3. PriusCamper

PriusCamper Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    While some have asserted that an EGR can't logically cause a blown head gasket, both problems seem to happen at the same time quite often. What's more Toyota Stealerships seem to act like there's no maintenance work is needed with a system that was poorly designed in Gen3. As you mentioned, it seems like a perfect design for clogging that they didn't have in Gen2 and got rid of in Gen4.

As for eliminating it from the system, I submit that the vehicle is so precisely tuned for maximum MPG and minimal air pollution, you'll compromise the benefits of both in doing so.

Also, isn't just ignoring it and letting it clog up the same thing as bypassing it, but without the work?

4. ChapmanF

ChapmanF Senior Member