1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Diagnose Multiple DTC Codes: Misfire and IAT/MAF sensors

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by Mark S., Jan 30, 2022.

1. Mark S.

Mark S. New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hello all,
    This is my first time posting to this PRIUSchat and I am relatively new to doing maintenance on my 2010 Prius with 112k miles. Driving home the other day I noticed the check engine light came on. I took it to a car parts store and got the below codes:

P0304 - cylinder 4 misfire
    P0102 - MAF sensor - circuit low
    P0113 - IAT sensor - high input problem

Last June I did some maintenance on my Prius for the first time - there seems to be a link unfortunately :(

Here's what I did:

Cleaned intake manifold, throttle body, EGR tube, MAF/IAT sensors
    Replaced spark plugs
    Replaced fuel injectors (after market but I used o-rings from original fuel injectors)

I also recently filled my car up with mid-level gas from Shell before I realized your not supposed to use premium gas for Prius... Any thoughts on how to further diagnose/solve the issue would be so appreciated!

Thanks,
    Mark

2. PriusCamper

PriusCamper Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Check oil level... Check plugs on mass air flow/temp sensor.

Clear codes and let us know how long it takes for them to return...

Did you touch the sensors with anything when cleaning or just the spray that's designed for 'em?

Mark S. likes this.
  3. Mark S.

Mark S. New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Okay will do- thank you! I didn't touch the sensors with anything other then the cleaner specified in the "Nutz and Bolts" tutorials. Could you explain how the oil level may be causing the problem and how the air flow/temp sensors could be related to the mis-firing? Thanks again

4. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member