1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Did reprogram affect your mileage?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Azor, Feb 27, 2006.

1. Azor

Azor New Member

I am new to this chat arena and I am hoping I can find someone that has experienced what I have recently experienced.

I have a 2004 prius and have been very happy with it. I am extremely careful with my driving to maximize mileage and minimize emissions. I have tracked nearly every tank of gas since I bought the car and have recorded mileage from 46 - 53 mpg. One time I got 45 mpg when it was pretty cold (I realize my mileage is above average). There were about 4 times that I did not calculate mileage in 2 years, but for the most part, the mode was 49/50 mpg.

In December I went to the dealership to get some minor things done to it before I lost my warranty (I now have over 40 K miles). They informed me that there was a recall involving an upgrade to the program that took care of some safety issues. I gave them permission to perform the upgrade.

I WISH I HADN'T DONE THE REPROGRAM!! :(

Afterwards, as soon as I drove my car on the highway, I noticed that the engine was behaving differently. It was much harder for me to coast on electric motor or battery. I am very much in tune with my display and when the electric motor is on/off, etc. To make matters worse, my first tank full after I got the reprogram ended up at 37 mpg! I was so upset. The dealer told me it was very cold and to go ahead and give it more time. Well, 2 months later (and with plenty of diverse driving and temps (went to Florida)) I have yet to get mileage over 46 mpg! My mode now is 43 mpg! Toyota refuses to give me my old program back saying that it doesn't exist anymore.

Did anyone have a similar experience? Any advice? I don't think it is right that no one warned me that the new program would reduce my mileage. I would have refused it otherwise...