1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Disappointed in Iowa

Discussion in 'Dealers & Pricing' started by alasad, May 31, 2006.

1. alasad

alasad New Member

I have been monitoring this site now for almost 5 months. On thing I have noticed is that there seems to be a lot of unethical Toyota Dealers out there that want to take advantage of the high demand and limited availability of the Prius. I ordered a pkg#4 prius amost 5 months ago and was planning on taking delivery last week. The letter below is what I sent to the dealerships main store. It pretty much tells the story. Great site by the way, lots of good info.

Clemons Autogroup
    1720 S Marshall
    Boone, IA 50036
    PH: (515) 432-5150

Dear Mr. Clemons,
    I am writing you concerning an experience I had at your Fairfield Dealership. After an Internet inquiry to Jonathan (Internet Sales) on January 12th I went to the dealership and inquired about ordering a Toyota Prius. Jonathan was not there that evening so I spoke to Jeff Bailey (Sales Manager) and Butch McKay (Sales) I was told that due to short supply there would be an undetermined wait, which I was prepared for. I had my 2004 Dodge Ram Hemi QC appraised by Jeff Bailey the General Manager and was given a quoted price of $23,316 for a Pkg#4 Prius. Jeff was going to allow me $18,000 for my Dodge which was pretty low for the low mileage (less than 9k) and the condition of the truck. He also told me that I would better off to sell it outright.
    A couple of days later I returned to the dealership and agreed to purchase the Prius for $23,316, I understood what I would be allowed for trade for my Dodge and planned on trying to sell it privately. Jonathan reviewed the buyer’s agreement with me, having me initial the various disclaimers. I signed and he signed it as the dealer representative, I placed a $200.00 deposit on the vehicle at that time.