1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Disappointing Mileage

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by JaboJabo, Apr 28, 2005.

1. JaboJabo

JaboJabo New Member

Hey there,
    I am looking at everybody's comments about the kind of
    gas mileage they are getting and I am kind of bummed.
    I have stopped paying attention to what the onboard is
    telling me I am getting and I am doing the simple math
    of dividing the mileage I have driven by how much gas
    I am filling up with.
    And that comes out to 33 mpg.
    Is there something I am doing wrong?

OK, now the laughable part. This is the first car
    I have ever owned in my life. I just started driving
    a few months before I got my Prius. I considered
    that maybe I am just a lousy driver but anybody
    who has driven with me tells me that I am a good
    driver (and my friends ain't that polite).

The only thing i can add is that it seems like the gas
    engine kicks on and off more violently (weird
    wording).
    Do I need a tune up?
    Is this covered under my warranty?

Any help will be appreciated.
    Jay

2. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I assume your Prius is quite new?

If so, the strong shudder is normal. It's prevalent when it's cold and/or when it's new. It will smoothen itself out as the mileage adds up and the engine warms up. Also, your calculated is 33mpg but what does the display say? Your last fill may not have been a full tank.

3. JaboJabo

JaboJabo New Member

Thanks for the reply Tideland Pearl,
    My Prius is only 3 months old but the rumble
    "seems" to be worse. It doesn't get very cold
    here because it's Los Angeles and the sun is
    pretty relentless.

I am doing my calculations based on
    resetting the odometer when I fill up.
    Then I drive until about 10 miles after