1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

DIY: Spring Install

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by andino, Jul 12, 2010.

1. andino

andino Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    DIY Guide: Spring Install

So over the weekend, I installed my Tein Htechs on my car. I figured others probably want to try it themselves but either don't want to venture into something they're not comfortable with or wanted a guide. Anyways, I tried to take pics of each step but being the first time taking apart my 2010, I was figuring stuff out as I went. So hopefully this will help you save a little bit of cash by doing it yourself or just help you gain a bit knowledge into the subject.

-------------------------------------------------------

* Disclaimer* I am not a certified mechanic and don't have any official certifications for working on cars. I am in no way responsible for you or your car if you mess something up or break your car in any way. This is only a guide based on my experience and could be totally wrong. *Disclaimer*

--------------------------------------------------------

Now that is out of the way, :focus:

This guide was made using Tein Htechs as an example but the general idea can be used for any spring install. It can also be used as a guide for a coilover install but I don't have any documentation on how to remove the rear struts.

Tools Required:
    - 23mm Socket (1/2" drive recommended)
    - 21mm Socket (1/2" drive recommended)
    - 19mm Socket (1/2" drive recommended)
    - 17mm Socket (1/2" drive recommended)
    - 14mm Socket (3/8" drive)
    - 12mm Socket (3/8" drive)
    - 10mm Socket (3/8" drive)
    - 1/2" drive breaker bar
    - 1/2" drive ratchet
    - 3/8" drive ratchet
    - 1/2" drive 3" extension
    - 3/8" drive 3" extension
    - 3/8" drive 6" extension
    - 17mm wrench (optional)
    - flat head screwdriver