1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Do car makers view hybrids as a safety liability???

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by owl20, Feb 23, 2007.

1. owl20

owl20 New Member

I am an intermediate school teacher. Today was career day at my school, and one of the guest speakers was a Hyundai engineer. Because I am passionate about " clean transportation," I asked when Hyundai plans to produce a hybrid vehicle. His response was that Hyundai is testing a hybrid at present, but does not like the liability that comes with hybrid vehicles. After further questioning, he stated that hybrids are risky because they have the potential for real safety problems when they charge. He was vague, and I didn't want to press him in front of my students, but I told him I had never heard of any safety issues related to hybrid battery charging. His response was, "That's just it, you never hear about it." He went on to say hydrogen was the alternative fuel of the future. NEED I SAY MORE!!!
    I love my Prius, and I wanted to debate this gentleman on the spot, but it was not the place, and I am not an engineer. Are there any safety problems related to hybrid battery charging? Do automobile manufacturers view hybrid vehicles as a safety liability at this stage of development? I appreciate any information this knowledgeable forum can give me. Thanks in advance for your time and responses.
    *** (Footnote) My Prius is the perfect car for me untill I can get a plug - in. I am a Prius disciple, and I confess to being ill equiped today! I need this information so that next time I can rebuke the evil disinformation disseminator.

2. Beryl Octet

Beryl Octet New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Charge? There's no plugging it in, although a lot of us wish there were.

3. V8Cobrakid

V8Cobrakid Green Handyman

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    my guess....