1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Do you and how do you combat junk mail?

Discussion in 'Environmental Discussion' started by burritos, Jul 26, 2006.

1. burritos

burritos Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I've written to the DMA(direct marketing agency) and have asked them to take me off of all mailing lists. I've contacted the credit report agencies to put my ssn on fraud alert to stop all new mailings from credit cards. I've also preprinted little cutout messages asking "To please remove me off your mailing list to reduce unnecessary costs and wastes." The paper I print these messages is scrap paper and I use excess charity mailing address stickers to stick the message any new applications I may get for credit cards, home equity loans, etc... I've been doing this for the last 3 years and I'll get maybe one junk letter a month. I'm starting to do it with the junk mail at work now.

2. galaxee

galaxee mostly benevolent

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    i found that writing to the DMA and whatever that phone number is to have "preapproved offers of credit no longer sent to you" cut out a huge percentage of the junk mail we got. to finish it off had to call a lot of catalog companies (and lenscrafters like 30 times) and have them remove me from their lists. (still not sure if lenscrafters has gotten the message)

i also found it wasteful, irritating, etc.

now if only i could get the mail carrier to quit putting those huge flyers in my mailbox twice a week... i think i'd be satisfied.

3. Salsawonder

Salsawonder New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV