1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Does a Prius III take the IPod interface?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by mainerinexile, Mar 27, 2010.

1. mainerinexile

mainerinexile No longer in exile!

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Newbie here, buying a Prius III next week. I've read the many posts about problems with the IPod interface, and this has helped me negotiate for the interface at dealer cost. However, I just noticed in the on-line build section at Toyota.com that the interface is listed as an accessory for the Prius II, but is NOT listed for Prius III or higher models.

Is this a web bug or programming oversight, or is there some functionality or an additional port that means that the Prius III doesn't need/use the IPod interface?

Thanks for your feedback. I've learned a ton from all of you folks here on Prius Chat.:)

2. mainerinexile

mainerinexile No longer in exile!

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Let me re-phrase the question: Does anyone know why the IPod Interface is listed as an option for the Prius II on the Toyota.com website, but it isn't listed as an option for the Prius II, IV,or V?

Thanks for your help.;)

3. v10BlackBox

v10BlackBox New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I think its because you get it for free on the III and up, that's what they told me when I got mine yesterday. It was one of the reasons that I tried to find a III in Pearl White with no Navi or Roof, but ended up with a II and a retrofit.

The option is ~300 or so installed by the dealer on the II's.

4. barrybie

barrybie New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III