1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Does removing stock plastic wheel rings reduce MPG efficiency?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by quixotequest, Jul 25, 2007.

1. quixotequest

quixotequest New Member

Prius newbie here. Forgive if asked before but can't locate via a Search:

Does removing the stock plastic wheel rings reduce MPGs? I was cleaning my wheels after picking up my car on Saturday and pulled off the rings to get to the brake dust underneath. Decided the wheels look better with rings removed, so never put them back on. Also found out many on the forum here feel the same.

Anyway, still don't like the look of the stock wheels. The design of the spokes, as well as the large rear flank of the car makes 15" wheels look smaller than what they really are. Would also like to go up to a 205 width in 16" or 17" diameter in order to improve wet traction and freeway handling while still staying with a higher mileage rated, less rolling resistant tire. (Understanding I am not going to drive this car hard, I also like being able to trade up to a more sporty looking, better visually sized wheel for the car's design.) So I'm out yesterday having my tire shop put some different rims on the car to see what I like and he comments on that I've removed the wheel rings from my car. He says, "Has your mileage suffered as a result of that?"

I told him I hadn't had the car long enough to notice, but wondered why it would even matter. He said the rings reduce air resistance accumulating inside the wheel, thus reducing efficiency by 1-3MPG. Therefore, if I switch to a better tire, I should plan on losing some mileage because I'm trading up to a wider and bigger wheel/tire, but also because the ring will no longer be there. (Of course how much mileage I'll lose is not clear.)