1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Does the Prius calm drivers?

Discussion in 'Prius, Hybrid, EV and Alt-Fuel News' started by Orf, Jun 9, 2006.

1. Orf

Orf New Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I have never been an aggressive driver but I do like to get from A to B as quickly as possible, that was until I bought a Prius. I always used to drive on the speed limit (sometimes + a little bit) where conditions allowed. I am a safe driver having driven for 57 years without an accident (touch wood and cross my fingers).
    It used to irk me to sit at traffic lights waiting for them to change to green, partly due to hearing my petrol money being wasted. Since owning a Prius, I quite enjoy sitting there in complete silence or listening to the radio without the disturbance of an engine running in the background. I must admit that I get pleasure from thinking of all those stationary drivers around me whose cars are wasting fuel - poor suckers.
    I suspect that the relaxed feeling I experience at the lights carries over into the rest of my driving and I find I am no longer in a hurry to get to the end of my journey. I suspect that this calming feeling should make me an even safer and better driver.
    Initially I thought that it was endeavouring to get better fuel consumption that had a calming effect but on second thoughts that would only temper my driving habits, any anxiety would be heightened by the additional concentration necessary to achieve that goal.
    I do find that I quite often glance at the MFD and perhaps that is the catalyst for my euphoria. I hope not.
    Has anyone else found that driving a Prius has changed his or her driving mindset resulting in a much calmer driving lifestyle or am I just getting old and stupid? :)

2. airpolgas

airpolgas New Member