1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Dr. Rangelove (or "How I Learned to Stop Pumping and Love the Plug")

Discussion in 'Prius, Hybrid, EV and Alt-Fuel News' started by TonyPSchaefer, Jul 27, 2010.

1. TonyPSchaefer

TonyPSchaefer Your Friendly Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    The fact that Toyota has invested the time and engineering to develop a plug-in version of the much-loved Prius is fantastic. That they will be performing long-term, real-world tests with fleets over the next year is impressive. That they gave me one to drive around for a week is downright silly and careless. Oh well, two out of three ain't bad. Let's get this straight from the beginning: I have been driving my 2004 Prius for six years. I know that car inside and out. Literally. I chose to not purchase a 2010, Gen3 Prius when they were initially introduced. I have made it very clear that my next car would come with a charging cable. Because of my decision, I had very limited experience with a Gen3 Prius. So as you can imagine, I had a double learning curve to overcome and often had to check with my Gen3 Prius owning friends to determine if a characteristic was native to the Prius or new to the PHV. Keep in mind that the Prius PHV I drove is a pre-production, test unit. There are rumors, hopes and even a few non-disclosed confirmations that the functionality and setup of the final production vehicle will be different in a few key ways. I will review and explain the vehicle I drove. In a few years, we can look back and determine the final details Toyota tweaked as a result of the feedback they received. Overview: First, let's discuss the functionality of the plug-in and how it's engineered. From the very beginning of Prius, owners have asked whether they could plug it in at night to charge the hybrid battery. The intent was not to have an EV range but merely to start eac