1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Dragged, kicking and screaming, and now own a Pruis

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by mgrant8163, Jan 2, 2011.

1. mgrant8163

mgrant8163 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I'm a newbie Prius owner in Northern California. My in-laws have two Gen II cars and love them. We rented a bright red 2010 for Thanksgiving week and my wife decided that she had to have one. I'm so tired of hearing about MPG I could just spit!

So, about a month ago, we bought a 2010. Now she wants ME to drive it! (I just hate hand-me-downs). I consider myself a "car guy" and have not had a vehicle without at least 300 HP for at least 10 years. The Prius is a shock to my system. Here's what she got on the car:

*Dark grey exterior- nice and shinny, I like the color,
    *Dark tinted windows. Thank goodness, what if one of my friends see me in it?
    *Factory leather interior - I like the color combo of the light leather and dark dash, mats, etc., heated seats,
    * Sunroof with solar pannel- stupid question...why do I have a solar panel that doesn't charge the battery? The sunroof is nice though,
    * Navi system with hands free phone- great system with touch screen

This car is growing on me, especially since one week I drove it for a week in downtown San Francisco. Awesome to park and easy to get around with. Dislikes (so far):

* Exterior stying - this thing is really ugly. The interior is pretty nice and I almost get used to it. As soon as I step outside of the car, I'm reminded how ugly it is.
    * Hub caps- I don't know if I've ever owned a car with hub caps. In fact, I"m not sure if my father has ever owned a car with hub caps. I give them a life of 6 months before I put some nice wheels on the car and upgrade to 17's.