Drive Motor A temp sensor circuit high

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by douglasjre, Feb 5, 2018.

  1. douglasjre

    douglasjre Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    668
    270
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    code p0a2d. Where is Motor A temp sensor circiut? Is that an elec motor or gas motor?
     
  2. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    14,733
    7,497
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    That's in the transaxle, need replacement. I had a red 2010 with that error
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  3. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    11,028
    15,081
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Did you end up getting rid of it for the same price you paid for it:whistle:?
     
  4. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    14,733
    7,497
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Yep same $2k, sold in 15 minutes
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  5. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    12,838
    9,279
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Quick point about codes: because a code refers to something that's located in 'assembly X' does not always mean you should go buy assembly X and replace it. Sometimes it does, but sometimes the cause could be something simpler.

    Especially when assembly X is both expensive, and a bear to replace, it can definitely be worth looking the code up in the manual to see what its "detecting condition" is, and working through other possibilities for what could have caused that condition (the manual will have a suggested sequence of tests you can try in order to do so).

    At least that way, if you do end up at the conclusion that you need to buy a transaxle, you'll feel more confident you haven't overlooked something simpler.

    -Chap
     
  6. douglasjre

    douglasjre Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    668
    270
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Where is the sensor?
     
  7. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    14,733
    7,497
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    There are a couple electrical connectors that go to the transaxle, maybe you can disconnect them and see if the error goes away (or there's a problem with the connectors themselves). The sensor is inside the transaxle and can't be replaced by itself
     
Loading...