1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Driving in cold weather/snow for the first time.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Deevan, Dec 16, 2007.

1. Deevan

Deevan New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I'll be taking a 9 day road trip from Florida to Wisconsin in the middle of January. I'm expecting extremely cold weather, and most of the drive there will be non-stop from FL.

What do I need to do to prep the vehicle? Is it worth it to get snow tires on the front wheels?

I've never done this before. :)

2. galaxee

galaxee mostly benevolent

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    we took the prius up there with the oem tires last winter and they weren't the greatest but they worked. (well, in comparison to my college-beater junk-tires experience, it was awesome.) we drove through a huge rain/sleet/snow/ice system from the time we hit va until we got to wi. windshield washer fluid froze, and i think the rain-x wore off after ~15 hours of continuous wiper use.

i love wisconsin. have fun!

3. Rangerdavid

Rangerdavid Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    As long as you are on the main roads, you should be fine. The salt and brine trucks, and snow plows will take care of most of what should worry you. If its ice, there's nothing you can do but be very careful, or get off the road.

As far a prep, you could pre-cut from strips of insulation for the front grill block. Without an EBH, and I'm assuming you wouldn't have one in Florida, the grill block is an easy install, and could even be done at a roadside rest area when you get to the cold weather.

A tire pressure gague is necessary as well. As I'm sure you know, cold weather will cause a decrease in air pressure in your tires. You'll need to be aware of that and check the pressure, particularly after you arrive at your destination, check them the next morning when they are cold to get an accurate reading.