DRLs for '12 Prius v

Discussion in 'Prius v Accessories and Modifications' started by jzchen, May 16, 2013.

  1. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,504
    769
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Sorrry, not home. DIM replaced by DRL in those vehicles with DRL. I searched for the DRL part # and found a scionlife thread with a very similar situation...

    SCH-R530M ? 2
     
  2. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,504
    769
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    2011, the year you listed as your Prius model year,is the year before the v wagon came out, at least here in the US. You are sure it is not a Prius V? Possible you post a pic of the car?

    Anyways, here's the thread I found on scionlife:

    Stock Daytime Running Light (DRL) Install - Scionlife.com
     
  3. ImeanGreen

    ImeanGreen Prius v Five BP Brigade #236

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    547
    70
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
  4. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,504
    769
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five

    Sorry to doubt you.

    Anyways, I don't think we need to worry about that one. There is a spot on mine that is not populated and it says DRL. Looking at the wiring diagram, the similar issue in the Scion, and pictures from that thread, I think you don't need to be worring about using a dremel on that raised block anyways. I am focusing my attention on the slot DIM/DRL MODULE. I'm sorry if I incorrectly labelled the slot when I wasn't home...
     
  5. ImeanGreen

    ImeanGreen Prius v Five BP Brigade #236

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    547
    70
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    No problem.
     
  6. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,504
    769
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five

    I just realized you posted the pic of your v this year. I'm guessing yours is a 2013. Probably they changed the relay block no. 1. I can not find any variations in relay blocks for 2012, well at least so far....
     
  7. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,504
    769
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Just picked up the relay block. Bingo! Looks like it's the right one. Still need to figure out the repair wiring info, then on to assembly/rewiring....

    SCH-R530M ? 2
     
  8. Air_Boss

    Air_Boss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    3,353
    847
    0
    Location:
    New Yawk
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five


    Press on!
     
  9. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,504
    769
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    It looks like the relay block fits fine. But there is no repair info anywhere. I sourced a used fuse box with pigtails to extract from. Definitely need to reconnect wires underneath, connect ground, and run one wire to main ECU/junction block.

    SCH-R530M ? 2
     
  10. ImeanGreen

    ImeanGreen Prius v Five BP Brigade #236

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    547
    70
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I can confirm that by doing what Jimbo is doing requires no adjustment for the dash panel lights even with the headlights on. The dash lights are dependent with the ambient light the sensor receives. So during day time driving with the headlights on, the dash light does not go into night mode - still stays in daylight driving mode unless you go through a tunnel or under a bridge.
     
  11. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,504
    769
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Just extracted the green relay with some wiring. On to finding a way into the fuse box...
    [​IMG]

    SCH-R530M ?
     
  12. Air_Boss

    Air_Boss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    3,353
    847
    0
    Location:
    New Yawk
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Project just returned from hiatus?
     
  13. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,504
    769
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Lack of confidence, or lack of finding anyone that is willing to do the dirty work. Got lots of practice removing the circuit from a Prius c fuse box though....

    Yup, not a good feeling having a father who questions you all the time...

    SCH-R530M ?
     
  14. Air_Boss

    Air_Boss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    3,353
    847
    0
    Location:
    New Yawk
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Aha. I missed that the plan is to re-purpose a "c" DRL circuit.
     
  15. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,504
    769
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Other cars use the same green relay to provide DRLs. It is the same relay used in the Prius v in Canada. There were no junked Prius vs last year when I searched, so I found probably the next cheapest thing. I'm afraid I was not successful in opening the fuse box. I have ordered a Canadian Prius v fuse box to figure it out since I haven't found any instructions on the process...
     
  16. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,504
    769
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    A few wire harnesses out of the way, waiting for the v fuse box to come to figure out what else is holding the top portion down.
    [​IMG]

    SCH-R530M ?
     
  17. xliderider

    xliderider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    6,997
    2,612
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Man, I gotta say, you have some big cajones to be tearing things apart the way you are. Just to get that one bit of oem functionality. :rolleyes:

    I'd be nervous digging as deep into the wiring as you are. :p

    Got a few Check Hybrid System error messages after probing some circuits with a DVM while checking to see what was hot while in Ready and Off. On hindsight, it may have been because I used a bolt on the inverter case for a ground point. :p

    SCH-I535
     
  18. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,504
    769
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    You probed with a volt meter? I could never get how one would do that. Did you do it at the connector, or did you pierce wires? I would look at the wiring diagram and try to figure out which wire I would need from that. Now you have me scared, but I've already invested a lot of money on this method, so it would be a waste to go back. (I first tried to buy all the parts from a dealer, but I couldn't figure out what I needed to rewire the relay block, then I got the Prius c fuse box, and now I've continued on to getting an actual Prius v fuse box.) My dad already said to better not do it again... Sometimes I tell him if he was the Wright brothers' father there would be no airplanes...

    To be honest, I've looked at the SET DRL kit and I see all these things that need to be done to install it, and I think, why don't I just reconnect the DIM wire underneath the fuse box and run the wire to the ECU DRL output. (It looks so easy when you look at the wiring diagram, I mean 6 wires. 4 are already there, and then you just run the ground and the wire to the DRL output.) I wish I could post it but I saw TIS policy prohibits redistribution. (I don't want to banned...) I wouldn't be surprised if I bought the SET kit that I would mess up a T-tap.

    I'm nervous, but luckily I have the option to take my time. If you ask me to rush it, I'd probably screw something up. After opening up the Prius c fuse box that I got last year, I can say that the Toyota engineers are really neat and tidy. Everything is bundled together, and the fuse box is designed in three pieces, the lid, the center with relay blocks, some of which are removable/interchangeable as in this case, and the bottom. When I'm done, and if I'm successful, I'm probably going to announce that if I can do it, anyone can, because honestly, I was supposed to become a doctor if my parents had their wish, (they were doctors,) and when they helped me go back to school because I didn't make it and I chose CECS, they weren't surprised when I failed to finish.

    My EE101 project partner was a Turkish genius, from Turkey with a full ride to USC, and he pretty much did the whole project. He wasn't very neat though, and the wires were sprawling all over the place. When I got it for my turn, it was practically done, but it didn't work. My job was to fix it. I wish I took a picture. It took me a good few hours to trace the wires and find the problem, but I did. It worked when we tested it...

    Well, if I get a check hybrid system error I will be able to honestly say it happened with the battery ground disconnected, because the only thing I probed while the vehicle was still hot was that one pin that was sticking out of the PAL? fuse socket. That reminds me, maybe I should figure out how to disconnect the traction battery before I accidentally fry myself....

    BTW- There were a whole bunch of connections there, but they readily disconnected and are not stuck to the fuse box. Of those, none of the connectors seem to be the exact same. There seems to be only 3 wiring bundles that are attached to the box that I have to be concerened about. Gotta love the Toyota engineers...
     
    #58 jzchen, May 30, 2014
    Last edited: May 30, 2014
  19. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,504
    769
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five

    But I thought you'd finish doing this before I get it done! :) I know deep down you want to.... :ROFLMAO:
     
  20. xliderider

    xliderider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    6,997
    2,612
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Nope, happy with the highbeam DRLs using an aftermarket DRL module. :D

    FYI, if you do get any Check Hybrid System error messages, double check all connections, then if you are certain nothing is wrong, you can clear the error by cycling the car off and on a few times. As long as the error condition that triggered the message is gone, then the error will clear.

    Best of luck. (y)

    SCH-I535
     
Loading...