1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Drop in fuel economy after a my Prius took a bump :(

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Fuel Economy' started by Solrz, Feb 8, 2015.

1. Solrz

Solrz New Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    III
    So, I purchased my Gen iii Prius almost a year ago on 21/02/14 and it's been great! Until now that is..

A bit of background as I am a newbie to the forum. I purchased it with 42341 miles on the clock and just this evening when I got out of the car the odometer read 82019 - so I've travelled a few miles and spent quite some time in the cabin. When I purchased it I reset the trip A so I could monitor my mileage and although it's not perfect as it resets every 9999 miles it carries forward the MPG which currently stands at 60.5 over the 40k miles that I've nearly driven. I reset trip B after every fill up so I can see how I'm managing each tank of fuel. I don't drive the same route everyday and week. nor do I travel the same distance daily but somehow each week it averages at around 800-900 miles. Just before my "incident" I had just changed my tyres all round to Dunlop Sportmaxx RT which came with a C for Rolling Resistance, A for Wet Grip and 67 dB. After doing so I noticed that my fuel economy on trip B was starting to rise and the latest came out at 64.7 MPG. I was really looking forward to getting some great mileage.