1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Dynamic Radar Cruise Control might be my favorite thing on my Gen 4!

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Main Forum' started by glennonrp, Jun 3, 2016.

1. glennonrp

glennonrp Active Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    I've had my car since the end of February and lots of chances to use the DRCC. The first few times it was honestly scary. I did not know if I could trust it.

I've been driving for over 30 years. I've always liked using cruise control. But, driving in Southern California most of the time, it's hard to use it very often. Nothing worse than getting it set at 70 mph only to see brake lights ahead after only a mile. Or some dill weed is going too slow in the left lane and you try to get around but everyone else behind you is zooming past and you have to hit the breaks and turn off the cruise control. And over and over. It sucks that unless traffic is light or I'm outside the heavily populated areas, I can't use my cruise control.

Until now.

When I was trying to sell my old car I got to talking to a CarMax sales guy about the new Prius. He tried to tell me how the DRCC on it want good, that he had the same thing on his Dodge and he never uses it because one time someone cut him off and the car slammed on its brakes.

Well, yeah, I can see why you'd have a problem with that. But that's not what my Prius does. When the DRCC is on, and someone gets over too closely, the car either slows gradually, increasing the following distance, or it keeps speed because the radar can tell the car is accelerating away from us.

That's awesome.